Hello water, farewell house.

1

July 22, 2012 by Last Star blog

Well, here we are starting Hank & Patricia’s sailing adventure. For those that know us, know Hank is the king of bait & switch. (kidding honey) He has always wanted to buy a sailboat and sail around the world with his sons.  So..when retirement from the Air Force came up and I was well into getting another degree in graphic design/illustration and dreaming of the “retirement” home, a great job, some extra cash… the empty nest.. he says, “dear, honey, love of my life, how would you like to take a year off and live on a sail boat?”  I said, “honey, sweetie, live 365/25/7 with only you on a boat… WTF?”  There were some remarks made about my current unemployed/slacker status and something about galley wench and then some vague reference to bettor or worse… and here I am, all in, struggling to find financing, insurance, and what do we do about mail?  The kids?  Did I mention we are moving our youngest out to Austin for college? Did I mention we are taking our two cats?  When I stop muttering to myself and pulling my hair out, ‘it’ll all be good.’  If I can just embrace what my 19 yr old tells me when I ask about a task and it’s completion:  “YOLO, Mom, chill.”  And of course, he is right, you do really only live once.  The house, the money, the things  can wait but Hank’s dream can’t. And since I can never seem to ever deny him anything because he is the love of my life, I am all in. So, hello water and farewell house.

One thought on “Hello water, farewell house.

  1. PT says:

    YOLO…agreed

Leave a Reply

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

Last Star for Sale

or Last Star for Sail...

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Hobo Sailor

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Blog

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Sailing One World

The Adventure of a Lifetime

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

