The Legacy of Georgia persists

1

November 17, 2012 by Last Star blog

Georgia On My Mind….                still

All right, we get past the Jekyll bridge and I’ve scoped an alternate anchorage the day prior.  To get to it I have another 4 miles to go and a shallow bay ahead.  As we are going to this little jewel I am passing multiple boats anchored on our port side (left for you landlubbers–hell left for me to, let’s keep it simple) and I say screw it, these people are all here, must be a reason.  We’ll put in here.  We motor around the area, feel out the depths, check locations and distance to pick out our next victim(s) and try and find a suitable place.  Now again the wind is out of the North–did I mention the weather is still ass and that it is cold as hell again? Oh and the current is the opposite direction, this makes getting the right spot a bit of a challenge.  You have to motor over the spot you want, get the anchor to fall the 14-20 feet down and then you back off straight to set it and at the same time fight the wind and current that wants to turn you around and put the anchor line around your prop-shaft.

We get the anchor down, the wind and current are playing havoc with ALL the boats in the anchorage.  I am NOT digging this at all based on the last two days.  I see a “pilot house” sail boat next to us and it is literally do 360s around its anchor–this is not good.  I wonder where the crew is.  Nearly all the boats in the anchorage 8-10 of us have the dinghies attached and are below as the weather is cool and cloudy.  The only ones motoring around are the Canadians; I expect them to go swimming at any time!  I finally can’t stand it anymore watching the boat next to us spin, how long will this go on before he come loose.  Patricia and I are back on deck, engine running and we’re moving–at least it is light this time and under our terms.  We raise the hook, cross the channel and settle in on the other side where the charts show the water is 4 feet deep.  Not true as we see one large commercial vessel in there and two sailboats.  As we tour the area we see that the depths in the location we were in is a deep channel and a bad place to be, the other side maybe shallower but will be a better hold if you can feel your way in.  I figure the Sea Tow guys are not far so what have I to lose.  We eventually find a spot with required scope, adequate depth for the low and high tides and are good to go.  As we are finally settling in who pulls up but the green pilot house that we left to be away from in the first place.  He is no-shit between me and the next boat and his first attempt to drop anchor he realizes the is too close!! Yah think!  Now there is a delicate etiquette in all this and I am sure I’ve stepped all over it in the last two months–dropping in on Joe and his wife during Wheel of Fortune unannounced for example.   I tell “Legacy” (the vessels name) that the scope I have out is great, the depth is shallow under me currently but I’ll accept that, and that my large freeboard is more suspect to the wind than the current so I drift oddly in relation to my anchor.  Well Legacy sees that he has ended up no-where near where he intended so he and his partner raise the anchor and try again.  Sigh of relief from me.  Well they are no more successful in the second attempt.  They are still right next to us.  It is now dark, I’m checking my anchor line which is now under my boat as the current has changed–again and is fighting the wind.  In order to free the line I turn the rudder to the opposite direction.  With the current  flowing over it after about 20 second the boat does a 360 and comes free and swings around on its full scope with the additional 45 feet of boat on the end of the pendulum.  Well Mr. Legacy was topsides and see all this and asks me “What’s going on Cap’n” and I promptly tell him AGAIN that I have a ton of scope out and that my boat will fight the wind/current thing all night.  Does he move?  Oh hell no.  Great can’t take a hint.

Well my boat cast a wind-shadow on him all night therefore he responded to the current(s) and I was fighting the wind and currents all night long.  This morning about 5:30 when I could stand it no more I got up and got dressed (the tide was coming in again and would make matters worse) and went outside.  I could have hit his boat with a cantaloupe it was that close.  At first light we left–I had enough of the Legacy and wanted more distance between us.  It was another fitful night.  3 in a row now.  None of this was intentional on this guys part.  Just a bad combination between our boats.  Wish he had put in on the other side of the other boat.

One thought on “The Legacy of Georgia persists

  1. armin says:

    you want to come rake leafs with me this afternoon? i have an opening.
    armin

Leave a Reply

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

Last Star for Sale

or Last Star for Sail...

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Hobo Sailor

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Blog

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Sailing One World

The Adventure of a Lifetime

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

