Life’s Luxuries

Leave a comment

June 14, 2013 by Last Star blog

Life’s Luxuries

The light off the platter....amazing.

The reflected light off the platter….amazing.

We spent a week at my mother-in-law’s home in Naples, Fl in the lap of luxury. She has a beautiful home in a gated manicured community.  Sidewalks, tennis courts, and fountains…hmn, not the Bahamas. It wasn’t all fun and games though. There was still work to be done, as we drug it with us.  I had stripped the stairs that go into the boat/salon, stripped the table in the cockpit and had visions of finishing them in the Christiane’s garage.  The luxury of a semi-dust free environment; not weeds, bugs and dirt blowing around us under the boat.  We had some terrible rains from Andrea and I had a heck of a time with the humidity, but I managed to finish the stairs but am waiting on a decal for the table.  I also took my sewing machine to craft some mosquito screens, adapt some tarps to our boat for shade in hopes of lowering the temp in the boat and make something to hold Alek’s massive smart-phone while he runs.  I didn’t take pictures of any of it!  And the phone holder was picture worthy, I used batman material…because I could.   I am a lousy documentarian.  Sorry for that.  Of course, being back on land there was the luxury of shopping at CVS, Target, Wal-Mart, Nordstrom’s, and restaurants!  You have no idea how mesmerizing a CVS can be. We had this fabulous lunch at a place called the Counter, a hamburger joint that Cole swears is as good as Hopdoddy’s in Austin. Now that is a compliment.

With Christiane at The Counter for lunch.

With Christiane at The Counter for lunch.

The truth of our week in Naples was hours of work and shopping for odd items such as a new welcome mat, a 10x mirror, netting for the cockpit, boat parts, getting prescriptions refilled, getting a new battery for my car…laundry list of things to take care of when you have the luxury of a vehicle.

Cole and I with that damn VW and it's new battery.

Cole and I with that damn VW and it’s new battery.

The luxury of air-conditioning and ice cubes…I don’t think I need to explain that, as returning to the boat it was 98 degrees.

Seriously??????

Seriously??????

And of course, on the hard there is no A/C ! Christiane doesn’t have internet in her house but there is wifi at the community center a short 1/2 mile away.  Unlimited wifi in an air conditioned game room.  AHhhhhhhhh.  I now know for a fact I am awful at ping-pong.

There are many luxuries in life, there are the ones we recognize and hail, like a Jaguar or a very expensive night out.  However, the luxuries I mean are the ones that we take for granted.

My mother-in-law is the nicest person on the face of the planet, flat out.  I love her.  She spoils me when I am there and worries about my person, if I work too much or don’t get enough sleep.  I lost my mother 20 years ago and my mother-in-law has truly taken over the challenge.  I am so very lucky to feel so at home in her home and so very happy to call her my mother #2.

Which brings me to the biggest luxury in my life ever: waking my children.  I don’t get to do it very often any more, but when they were little it was one of the happiest moments of my day. Maybe because it was the last moment before they woke up and starting torturing me and each other.  Even as adults, when they are home I go in and wake them up.  Watching them sleep is still one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.  Somewhere in their slumber, age seems to slide from their faces and I can still recognize the little boys they once were. It is truly a luxury to see them home, safe and sound, to know where they are at any given moment.  I love being a family.  Alek was sweet enough to host his brother in Orlando and then drag him to his grandmother’s for the weekend for us to be a family.  It was a whirlwind week and an even quicker weekend together with Alek. The ice-cubes in my cosmo were just a bonus.

Never growing up.

Never growing up.

Leave me alone, I am trying to nap!!!!

Leave me alone, I am trying to nap!!!!

Leave a Reply

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

Last Star for Sale

or Last Star for Sail...

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Hobo Sailor

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Blog

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Sailing One World

The Adventure of a Lifetime

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

