Old school…..? or old shoe?

2

September 16, 2013 by Last Star blog

As promised, material for the blog is a bit skosh.  So as indicated previously some of our things need updating after 12 months “at sea”.  The environment we were in was pretty harsh at times.  The sun wrecks everything–your skin, fabrics, aluminum cans (no really) just about everything.  My sailbags that held the windsurfing sails are just eaten up by the sun for example.  When Patricia carried them to the van the handles literally tore in half and fell apart in her hands.  Now it wasn’t only the sun that ate up our stuff.  The washing machines there are a bit harsh in the sense that the settings generally don’t work.  You don’t get many choices on the cycle or the water temps. For the most part there is no hot water its all mostly just “room” temperature.  The dryers will roast your stuff too so the clothes were a little bit beat too.  Finally my Tevas were well worn after +100 DDMs and other general out-n-abouts.  So when we got here I shopped around for something to replace them.  I was looking for something in an open shoe and looked at quite a few flip-flops but just couldn’t pull the trigger on those and of course ended up going back to what I know–Old school.

Can you pick the new shoes?

Can you pick the new shoes?

Truth in advertising, the new shoes are a different color/style.  I chose the brown hue for fall—who says I have no fashion sense?

Tops or bottoms?

Tops or bottoms?

The heels are worn from me dragging them up and down miles of ironshore

The heels are worn from me dragging them up and down miles of iron-shore

Hats off to the folks at Teva, I beat these shoes up, in and out of the salt water hundreds of times.  Rarely would I get out of the dinghy and step on the unknown bottom without my Tevas on.  They spent nearly every night on deck or in the dinghy hoping for some fresh water for a rinse.  After 2-3 days of shopping in brick and mortar or on the internets I was back to the same old product–with no regrets!!

I like it here....lots of room, not so slippery

I like it here….lots of room, not so slippery

2 thoughts on “Old school…..? or old shoe?

  1. Cole Castelain says:

    I see you bought yourself two shoes….

  2. Grunt says:

    Oh, you poor baby!
    Let me get this straight: I am supposed to feel sorry for you because your shoes, clothes, WINDSURFER, and beer cans were so terribly weatherbeaten because they were…wait for it…wait for it…Romping around from private, beautiful beaches, to exotic empty resorts, private islands, and even more private, beautiful beaches!!! I don’t know how you survived the harsh, cruel circumstances that you were forced to endure.
    I am just so glad you are now able to replace those poor, worn-out Tevas with an adequate new pair.
    I think it’s time for Patricia to kick you out into the working man’s world!
    BTW, why couldn’t the harsh environment do something about those cats? 😉

Leave a Reply

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

Last Star for Sale

or Last Star for Sail...

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Hobo Sailor

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Blog

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

Sailing One World

The Adventure of a Lifetime

Retirement + Empty Nest= 18 months of sailing adventure

